Ask the Grade Doctor
Contact Me
Links

Ask The Grade Doctor

Full Question Detail

Return to All Questions

: : : : :

Question

I am a mature student in nursing school. On my final exam, they were 90 questions but the teacher graded it out of 100 which caused me to end up with a 56.4% and failing.If she had graded it out of 90, I would have ended with a 58.63% and would have gotten an offer to rewrite the exam. Could you tell me why the instructor graded the exam out of 100%. I made an appt to meet with her ASAP do you think I am doing the right thing. Ps the final exam was 35% of my mark. I am looking for your reply. Thank you.

2010-12-28
Eliz Brathwaite

The
Grade
Doctor
says:

I absolutely think that you are doing the right thing to make an appointment to see her but
from the information you gave me I cannot tell whether the grade was calculated
accurately. For example was the exam scored out of 90 and then converted to a percentage
or was the raw score out of 90 recorded as if it were out of 100? I am somewhat amazed
also that a final nursing exam would have 90 presumably recall questions instead of a
small number of questions requiring analysis, evaluation and problem solving.

Eliz Brathwaite's
Comment

2010-12-31

Thank you for responding. However, the exam had 70 multiple choices questions and a
case study with other questions that were marked out of 20. I really don't know what is
going on with this school and this instructor, because I studied for the exam like I have
never studied before. When the exam was over, I was confident that I had passed. When I
saw my final grade, I was shock. I asked for a rewrite and she said I was not entitle for a
rewrite because my final grade was only 56.4%. I really do think that something went
wrong with the grading. Now, if the instructor dose not change the grade, I will be
suspended for a year. I am really disappointed. Thanks again.

The Grade Doctor's
Comment

2011-01-10