Ask the Grade Doctor
Contact Me
Links

Ask The Grade Doctor

Full Question Detail

Return to All Questions

: : : :

Question

I am an education student and currently I am studying the document "Growing Success". In
reading the section about Evaluation under Late and Missed Assignments (pg 45), two views
are presented. One suggests that giving a student a zero for not handing in an assignment
teachs the student to be accountable for their work, especially in the light of post-secondary
or employment expectations. Another suggests that giving zeros does not motivate students
but rather discourages them.
As a respected education consultant, I was wondering which side you would agree with and
why. This is an element of evaluation that I have yet to form an opinion on and I would like
to make an informed decision.
Thanks

2012-10-27
MegMac

The
Grade
Doctor
says:

Giving zeros is the opposite of accountability and responsibility because it says to students
'now you don't have to do it, you can just take a zero.' To promote real accountability we
should insist that students provide all required ESSENTIAL (but not necessarily all)
summative assessment and if they do not provide sufficient evidence the grade they
receive is an I for Incomplete or Insufficient Evidence.

Kevin's
Comment

2012-11-04

How long can students be incomplete for Ken? That is, I totally agree with your statement
but what kind of accountability is it when students are left with incomplete for entire
semesters? That is what is happening in MANY schools who have implemented no zero
policies. In fact, some divisions and provinces are moving away from their no zero
policies. I would suggest that the idea of 'real accountability' is still quite illusive in the
no-zero model you propose. Don't get me wrong, I am very much for using incomplete
and have not used zeros or late marks for four years. What should we do with students